Introducing photo story 

Photo story is a place in your OneDrive to share memories with people who matter most. Post photos and videos from your OneDrive and your followers can browse those posts on their feed, all without ads. No Microsoft subscription required.

What is photo story? 

Photo story is a new part of OneDrive that makes it easier to share photos and videos with friends and family. Pick the photos or videos you want to share, add a description, and post to your story. Only the people you want to share with can follow you and view, add comments, and react to your posts.  

Your friends and family can also make their own stories and posts that you can follow, comment on, and react to. 

Getting started with photo story 

(Early access) Photo story is currentlyin an early access and will only be available for Microsoft accounts within Australia.

Anyone with a Microsoft account can use photo story, no subscription needed. To get to photo story, go to Shared on your OneDrive

Make a post 

Share photos and videos in posts on your story. Select multiple photos and videos at a time and browse albums to find the perfect memory to share.  

  1. Select Create post

  2. Choose the photos and videos you want to share. 

  3. Select Continue or Next

  4. Add a location if you want. 

  5. Add a description for your post if you want. 

  6. Select Post

  7. Choose the photos and videos you want to share, either from OneDrive or your device.

    Note: You can edit your description later, but you can’t pick new photos or videos. 

Share my story with others 

Your story is for you and your followers. Anyone who wants to follow you and view your story will need a Microsoft account, but they don’t have to subscribe to Microsoft 365. You can invite people to follow your story and view your posts, make comments, and add reactions.  

Notes: 

  • By default, anyone you share your story with or send a link to will be allowed to view your story without requesting access. To change that, go to SharedMy story > Edit story settings > Ask me to approve all followers

  • If you’ve shared a public link and want to remove public access to your story, select Break Link

Web: 

Share your story with specific people: SharedMy story> Invite > add their Microsoft account email > confirm  

Share your story with a link: SharedMy story > Invite > get link > send link wherever you want 

Android: 

Share your story with specific people: SharedMy story > Invite > Invite > add their Microsoft account email > confirm  

Share with link: SharedMy story > Invite > copy link > send link wherever you want 

iOS: 

Share your story with specific people: SharedMy story > Invite > Invite > add their Microsoft account email > confirm  

Share with link: SharedMy story > Invite > copy link > send link wherever you want 

Find other people’s stories 

Similar to your story, other people’s stories are private until they share them with you. There is no way to search for people or accounts on photo story. You have to be invited to view someone’s story. When someone sends you an invite link in an email or message, open the link. Then, if you need to request access, select Request Access. Once they approve you, you’ll be able to view all their posts, make comments, and add reactions.  

Personalize my story 

To change your display name and account picture, you need to go into your Microsoft account settings. Check out these articles on how to change your Microsoft account display name and your Microsoft account picture

You can also customize a cover photo and description for your story.  

Note: Cover photos and descriptions are only for your photo story and won’t show up anywhere else on your Microsoft account. 

Web: 

Shared > My story > pencil icon   next to name > Change photo > Save 

Shared > My story > pencil icon   next to name > description > Save 

Android: 

Shared > My story > pencil icon  in header > Change photo  

Shared > My story > pencil icon   in header > description

  

iOS: 

Shared > My story > pencil icon  in header > Change photo  

Shared > My story > pencil icon   in header > description 

Remove a follower 

You can individually remove followers if you don’t want someone following your story any more. The person you remove will not be notified, but they can request to follow your story again. To remove a follower go to SharedMy story > Personalize your story [pencil icon   next to name] > Followers > Remove the follower

Reset my story 

Reset your story at any time. Resetting your story will remove your cover photo, description, all your posts, and all your followers from your story. When your posts are deleted, any photos and videos still on your OneDrive will remain on your OneDrive. However, if you deleted a photo or video from your OneDrive that’s posted on your story, the photo or video will be deleted forever.  

Warning: Resetting your photo story can’t be undone. 

To reset your story... 

Web: 

Shared > My story > pencil icon  next to name > Reset > Confirm Reset 

Android: 

Shared > My story > pencil icon  in header > Reset story > Confirm Reset 

iOS: 

Shared > My story > pencil icon   in header > Reset story > Confirm Reset 

Photo and video storage 

Because everything you post will be stored on your OneDrive account, it won't take up more storage by being on photo story.

If you post a OneDrive photo or video to your story and then delete it from your OneDrive, a copy will be made automatically to keep it on your Photo story. This will still count towards your total storage. 

To see which images have been copied open your Manage Storage > What’s taking up space > Manage photo story storage 

If you post a OneDrive photo or video to your story then delete it from your OneDrive, it will still be on your story and will still count towards your total storage. 

Deleting images and posts 

To delete a photo or video from your photo story, choose the post, select then Delete post

Deleting a post does not remove the image from your OneDrive. To delete a photo from everywhere you need to delete both your photo story post and the original file from your OneDrive.

Notifications 

By default, you’ll be notified by email and push notifications when: 

  • Someone requests access or accepts your invite to follow your story.

  • You’re granted access or invited to follow someone else’s story.

  • Someone adds a comment or reacts to your post.

  • When someone you follow makes a post.

To manage your notification settings: 

On Android, Me tab > Settings > Personal 

On iOS, Profile picture top left > Notifications

Privacy 

Photo story is a secure place to view and share your memories. Stories are always private. You can’t search for someone’s photo story in OneDrive or on search engines, and no one can search for yours. You can have peace of mind knowing that only the people you share with will be able to view your story. 

Check out more info in the Privacy Statement.  

Frequently asked questions 

Do I need a subscription to use photo story? 

No, you do not need to be subscribed to Microsoft 365 to use photo story. Right now, all you need is a Microsoft account. To learn more about Microsoft accounts, check out How to create a new Microsoft account

How do I search for other stories? 

There is no way to search for other stories on photo story. You must be either invited with your email or sent a link in a message from someone to follow their story.  

Why should I use photo story? 

Photo Story is a safe, secure, ad-free way to share your memories with friends and family that’s part of your Microsoft account.  

Related links

OneDrive help & learning - Microsoft Support 

Get help with your Microsoft account 

Upload photos and files to OneDrive (microsoft.com) 

Organize and find photos in OneDrive (microsoft.com) 

Automatically save photos and videos with OneDrive for Android (microsoft.com) 

Need more help?

Expand your skills

EXPLORE TRAINING >

Get new features first

JOIN MICROSOFT INSIDERS >

Was this information helpful?

What affected your experience?

Thank you for your feedback!

×