Table of contents
×

If you try to sign in to your Microsoft account and you see a message that says, "Your security info change is still pending," this means all your old security info was removed and replaced with something new.

When this happens your Microsoft account is restricted for 30 days. We can't expedite the 30-day pending process.

During this 30-day pending period, we'll send notifications to the phone number or email address that was removed so you can be alerted in case an attacker is attempting to remove your information.

If you didn't make the security changes, or if you did initiate the removal, but changed your mind:

  1. Go to Protect your account and sign in.

  2. At the security info change is still pending, select If you didn't request this, let us know.
    Or, you changed your mind and want to keep your existing security info, select Cancel this request.

What you can do while changes are pending

If you made the security info changes:

  • After 30 days, the security information you chose to remove will be deleted.

  • During this 30-day period, you can still access most Microsoft services, but you won't be able to do things that require a security code, like changing your password, email addresses or manage parental controls online.

  • You can view, change, or add billing information, and make purchases.

If you have two-step verification enabled:

  • You won't be able to sign in to your account unless you have the Microsoft Authenticator app and had previously set it up on this account, or you have access to your old security information. This includes not being able to sign in to other Microsoft services such as Outlook.com or OneDrive.

See Also

How to recover a hacked or compromised Microsoft account

Need more help?

Expand your skills
Explore Training
Get new features first
Join Microsoft Insiders

Was this information helpful?

What affected your experience?

Thank you for your feedback!

×